Knock Knock: New Music! 5/2/2019

Today we’re off to the Netherlands for a great new track from Weval! They’re the duo of Harm Coolen and Merijn Scholte Albers. They got together in Amsterdam back in 2010 and released three EP’s out ahead of their full-length debut album in 2016.

Merijn Scholte Albers & Harm Coolen of Weval.
Merijn Scholte Albers & Harm Coolen of Weval. Photo by Nick Helderman.

Each musician had different areas of expertise before they began working together. Albers’ background was in trip hop, while Coolen was more into house-music.

“The Weight” is their second full-length LP, out now on Kompakt Records. There’s a lot happening on this album as it weaves a tapestry of funk, trip hop, psychedelic, and downtempo styles into one amazing piece of vinyl. The tracks flow so seamlessly from one to the next that before you know it, you’ve listened to the album three-times through. It’s quickly become one my favorite records of the year! It was very hard to pick a favorite song (there are so many good ones,) but I’m going with “False State Of Mind.” It’s waiting for you now on the Knock Knock: New Music playlist. Happy listening! -Kristen



ALBUM: The Weight

RELEASE DATE: 3/1/2019

LABEL: Kompakt Records

#Weval #TheWeight #FalseStateOfMind #KompaktRecords #IndieRock #Electronica #TripHop #KristenEck #KristenEckRadio #YouTubePlaylist #SpotifyPlaylist

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All